If There’s a Zombie Apocalypse My Friends are on Their Way

It’s been over 18 months since I last worked due to personal circumstances.  In that time, I have healed old wounds and learned a lifetime of wisdom and grace.  One lesson being the impact that I have on people’s lives.  Like everyone, I lived life clueless about how my actions would affect others and the long term consequences way after.  I thought of myself as just another human being in this world whose voice didn’t matter and that people didn’t care that much about me.

Most recently, I needed to complete a profile for my resume profiling who I am.  Who am I anyhow?  I mean I spent the last 10 years in a sales career where I was successful, but didn’t feel valued.  I had some loyal friends who lived all over the United States.  I became a mother.  I am a sister. I knew I was cared for, but still my life felt quiet and empty.  I tried to define myself and the value I had in the world, but I could only define myself in what I did.  My roles suggest what I do, but not exactly who I am.  Qualities make up a person, not what you do or the role you play in the world.

As a part of my project, my close friends and former coworkers needed to describe who I am as a person, a friend, and a coworker.  Surprisingly, the overwhelming answer was, “if the world is in a zombie apocalypse, I am calling you! No matter where you live in the world, I am following you.”  What greater honor could you receive than that?

What also struck me is how difficult it was for them to say everything that I am to them.  I am so much more than loyal, caring, spontaneous, energetic, a doer.  To ask someone who you are in a list of qualities and characteristics, words just don’t seems to work.  We are dynamic beings who impact others everyday in big and small ways.  No matter where you stand and what you think of yourself, remember, you matter, even in the tiniest ways.

Now I know I better have a great emergency plan in case the zombie apocalypse ever comes!

image

Copyright 2004 Shaun of the Dead

Leave a Reply

